Dark Light
zendaya cover

Demna Gvasalia, Christopher John Rogers and Wales Bonner Win Huge on the CFDA Awards Leave a comment

Final night time, the style pack stateside threw their glad rags on and headed right down to New York’s Park Avenue for the largest night time in American vogue: the CFDA Awards. This yr, the Council of Style Designers of America and its chairman, Tom Ford, honoured a wealth of expertise from either side of the Atlantic.

Hosted by Emily Blunt, the night time noticed Christopher John Rogers take dwelling the gong for Womenswear Designer of the Yr, after dressing everybody from Woman Gaga and Lizzo, to Michaela Coel and the Vice President, Kamala Harris, as she was sworn into workplace in January. He was joined by sustainability maven Emily Bode, who took dwelling Menswear Designer of the Yr, and Edvin Thompson, who was topped American Rising Designer of the Yr for his label Theophilio.

Elsewhere, Telfar Clemens took dwelling the American Equipment Designer of the Yr award for a second time following the worldwide success of his Telfar shopper – AKA, the “Bushwick Burkin” – which has seen the designer collaborate with each Ugg and Moose Knuckles on new variations of the It bag.

On the worldwide entrance, Demna Gvasalia picked up Worldwide Girls’s Designer of the Yr for reigniting Balenciaga’s couture after 50 years and creating viral vogue moments by way of the pandemic – who might neglect The Simpsons episode? Taking dwelling the Worldwide Males’s Designer of the Yr was former LVMH Prize-winner Wales Bonner, who was applauded for her capability to translate mental explorations of the Black expertise into poetic clothes.

On the movie star entrance, Zendaya grew to become the youngest particular person to take dwelling the CFDA Style Icon award, Anya Taylor-Pleasure was topped Face of the Yr and Dapper Dan was awarded the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. For the complete record of winners, learn beneath:

Womenswear Designer of the Yr:

Christopher John Rogers

Menswear Designer of the Yr:

Emily Bode-Aujla for Bode

American Rising Designer of the Yr:

Edvin Thompson for Theophilio

Worldwide Womenswear Designer of the Yr:

Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga

Worldwide Menswear Designer of the Yr:

Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner

Equipment Designer of The Yr:

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

The Style Icon Award:


The Face of the Yr Award:

Anya Taylor-Pleasure

The Optimistic Social Affect Award:

The Mannequin Alliance

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert:

Aurora James for the 15 % Pledge

The Environmental Sustainability Award:


The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard:

Nina Garcia

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:

Dapper Dan

The Board of Administrators’ Tribute:

Yeohlee Teng

Pictures courtesy of the CFDA. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *